Coffee region

Colombia coffee region changes its name

posted by Sarah Kinosian

Colombia Reports- Coffee Region

Colombia’s coffee region, known as the Coffee-Growers Axis or Coffee Triangle, will now be called the Coffee Cultural Landscape.

According to Vice Minister of Tourism Oscar Rueda the name-change is a nod to the region being added as a UNESCO World Heritage Site last June.“It’s a name that would be stupid to not use, why use another name if the one they already gave us is a world brand with the potential to explore and exploit,” said the ministry official.

The region is composed of 47 municipalities and 411 villages in the eastern departments of Quindio, Risaralda, Caldas and parts of Valle del Cauca. It is famous for producing the majority of Colombian coffee and is one of the country’s most popular tourist destinations.

Colombia’s coffee region

News in Colombia
Sign up for the free weekly email from Colombia Reports.